jon-anderson-feature1There Were Big Names and Big Winners at Last Nights Prog Magazine’s Progressive Music Awards

First off, congrats to Jon Anderson who picked up “Prog God” award. His ARW bandmates Rick Wakeman and Trevor Rabin presented the former Yes singer that ultimate prize. It was also cool to see all three together. If you’re going to make your first public appearance that’s the place to do it. Remember their tour starts Oct 4th in Orlando, Florida. The Prog God last year was Keyboardist Tony Banks of Genesis. His former bandmate Peter Gabriel won the year before.

Another well deserved prize went to Van der Graaf Generator for their Lifetime Achievement Award.

Band Of The Year and Event Of The Year was awarded to Big Big Train, iamthemorning’s Lighthouse was Album of the Year. King Crimson’s Jakko Jakszyk was honored with Chris Squire Virtuoso award

Also The Police’s Andy Summers won the Guiding Light Award and they paid tribute to the late great Keith Emerson of E.L.P.

The annual Progressive Music Awards was established in 2012 .


The Winners

Prog God – Jon Anderson

Lifetime Achievement sponsored by Prog Rocks – Van der Graaf Generator

Band of the Year sponsored by Olympus – Big Big Train

Live Event sponsored by The Stage – Big Big Train

Limelight sponsored by K Scope – The Anchoress

Anthem sponsored by – Riverside: Towards the Blue Horizon

Album of the Year sponsored by Cherry Red and Esoteric Records – iamthemorning: Lighthouse

Vanguard sponsored by The Ticket Factory – The Mute Gods

Storm Thorgerson Grand Design Award sponsored by Chord Electronics – Anthony Phillips Esoteric Reissue Series

The Outer Limits sponsored by Inside Out Music – Buggles

Chris Squire Virtuoso sponsored by Butlins (Giants of Rock) – Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson)

Guiding Light sponsored by – Andy Summers

Visionary sponsored by Eagle Vision – Jon Hiseman (Colosseum)